Eastern Shore of Virginia
House & Garden
Sponsored by the Garden Club of the Eastern Shore
Saturday, April 27, 2013
From 9:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Cissy Hall (Mrs. Richard F. III)
(757) 787-7955 or email@example.com
Suzanne Tankard (Mrs. David B.)
(757) 442-7364 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Information and Group Tours:
Megan Ames (Mrs. Edward A., IV)
(757) 787-7626 or email@example.com
Jody Bundy (Mrs. Mark C.)
(757) 647-1320 or firstname.lastname@example.org
Tickets: Full ticket $40. Single site ticket $15. Children age 5 and under free; 6-12 half-price. Children age 17 and under must be accompanied by an adult. May be purchased on tour day at any home open for tour. Homes may be visited in any order.
Advance Tickets: $35 through April 26 at all Virginia Shore Bank locations: Cape Charles, Exmore, Onley, and Chincoteague; the Book Bin, Onley; Ker Place, Onancock and Rayfield’s Pharmacy, Nassawadox and Cape Charles. Cash or check only.
Lunch options: Tour area restaurants - Cape Charles: The Coach House, Kelly’s Pub, Historic Coffee House, The Shanty at the Town Dock, Aqua, and Rayfield’s Pharmacy Counter. Rt. 13: Sting Rays and Don Valerio’s Mexican. Eastville: The Eastville Inn. See our website for directions and tour day specials.
Directions to the Tour Area: From the south: Rte. 13 (Northampton Blvd.) in Virginia Beach to Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel and continue north on Rte.13. From the north: Delaware Memorial Bridge to Rte. 1 South to Rte. 13 South. From Washington/Baltimore: Rte. 50 East across Bay Bridge at Annapolis and continue on Rte. 50 East to Rte. 13 South at Salisbury. In immediate tour area, follow directions given for each tour stop.
Tour at a glance: Come by bridge or by boat to explore what our southernmost homes and gardens have to show you. Bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the east and the Chesapeake Bay to the west, the Eastern Shore of Virginia occupies the 70-mile terminus of the DelMarVa Peninsula, an area renowned for its agriculture and seafood industries. Our tour offers a wide range of properties, from a contemporary masterpiece nestled amid sand dunes to beautifully preserved traditional homes dating to the 1700s. The variety of architectural styles, décor and gardens provide five diverse versions of living on Virginia’s Eastern Shore.
Ticket price includes admission to the following 5 locations:
Pickett’s Harbor Beach House, 28410 Nottingham Ridge Lane, Cape Charles, VA 23310. On Rte. 13, proceed 3.9 miles north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel toll plaza to Townsend Drive (Rte. 646). Turn west and proceed for .7 miles. Turn right onto Arlington Rd. and take the first left onto Pickett's Harbor Drive. Proceed for .8 miles. Take the first right onto Nottingham Ridge Lane. The house will be on your left. Pickett’s Harbor Beach House lies quietly among Chesapeake Bay dunes, sea oats, and native trees in southern Northampton County. After driving past farm fields and vernacular farmhouses, arriving at this uncompromisingly contemporary home with natural cedar-planked and sand-plastered structure, is both surprising and inviting. The landside entrance opens into the Great Room with its floor to ceiling windows looking out to the Bay. Within this living space the commodious and sleek kitchen houses every convenience. From a long hall lined with books and maps, advertising tins and antique fishing reels, toys and tools, doors open to reveal comfortable bedrooms with windows framing the dunes. Found and beach-combed objects pair with intriguing prints and photographs to lend interest throughout. Adjoining the living and kitchen area, a spacious screened porch with built-in barbeque, long teak table and cushioned seating, speaks to both social gatherings and solitary retreat. From the deck, a path leads to the winding boardwalk that ends at the beachfront. Passing ships inch by on the horizon and lights of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel, which connects the peninsula to the mainland, flicker at dusk through the salt air. Open for the first time. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Nottingham Goffigon, owners.
Oak Grove, 25415 Lankford Highway, Cape Charles, VA 23310. The entrance is on the east side of Rte. 13 approximately 7 miles north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel toll plaza.
Oak Grove is one of lower Northampton County’s early nineteenth century treasures. The original structure is representative of the clapboard houses of its era with the additional enhancement of double brick ends. Horizontal paneled entry doors lead to a central cross-hall from the front and rear porches to provide ventilation throughout the dwelling. A modern kitchen endowed with natural light from six windowed doors occupies a former breezeway. The previous kitchen, now a guest bedroom, was once a school house moved from elsewhere on the property some years ago. Bird carvings by Frank Finney, early dental tools, and meticulously stitched family samplers enrich Oak Grove’s interior. A diverse array of outbuildings has been well preserved, including a noteworthy old barn which was documented by the Virginia Historic Landmarks Commission in 1975 as contemporary with the house itself (c.1833). It boasts hand-hewn and sawed sills, posts, studs and tie beams. Exquisitely maintained gardens attest to the owners’ pleasure with their rural haven where immense pecan trees provide shade and the white-shelled pathways are lined with boxwood. Among the several inviting outdoor spaces are a wedding garden, a secret garden, and a rose covered arbor. Open for the first time, Dr. and Mrs. Earnest D. Coalter, Jr., owners.
Eyre Hall, 3215 Eyre Hall Dr., Cheriton, VA 23316. The entrance is on the west side of Rte. 13 between Cheriton and Eastville (across highway from Rte. 636). An acclaimed historic home, Eyre Hall reflects the remarkable 255-year stewardship of a single family. Littleton Eyre completed his manor house in 1758, lavishing it with expansive spaces, superior woodwork and the finest fittings. By the end of the century, Littleton’s son and grandson had, in their turn, inherited his manor, adding an eastern wing and ordering additional stylish furnishings and embellishments. Today, guests of the builder’s eighth-generation descendent are delighted to discover that the first owners’ style and spirit remain vibrantly in place. Equally evocative is the magnificent parterre garden, continuously maintained since ca.1800. A broad front park and charming dependencies offer a rare picture of colonial plantation life in this ancestral home on Cherrystone Creek. Long listed on the National Register of Historic Places, Eyre Hall was in 2012 named a National Historic Landmark by the U.S. Secretary of the Interior. This limited designation is bestowed on nationally significant buildings, geographic sites and artifacts considered to have exceptional value in illuminating the country’s heritage. It is of note that private homes are infrequently selected for Landmark status, with Eyre Hall being at present the only such property in southeastern Virginia. H. Furlong Baldwin, owner.
Old Castle, 18263 Old Castle Rd., Eastville, VA 23347. At stoplight on Rte. 13 in Eastville, turn west onto Willow Oak Rd. (Rte. 631) which ends at town center. Turn left onto Courthouse Rd. (Business Rte. 13) and proceed .5 miles. Turn right onto Savage Neck Dr. (Rte. 634). Proceed 1.1 miles. Turn left onto Old Castle Rd.; proceed to end of hard surface, 1.2 mi. Continue straight on shell road. Located on Old Castle Creek, this gorgeous gambrel-roofed home has sweeping views of Cherrystone Creek, the Chesapeake Bay and beyond. The name Old Castle may have come into use when an early owner moved across the neck to his new home, Elkington. Restoration began in 1998, during which a journal dating from 1839 was discovered in a bedroom wall. This led to the house being featured on the television show, If Walls Could Talk. Peacocks roam the grounds, which feature an herb garden and a terrace on the footprint and brick floor of the old quarters kitchen. A shed roof addition to the creek side created space for additional rooms on each floor and a grander staircase. The wide cross-hall is flanked by the parlor and dining room, each having identical mantels. The kitchen features cabinets made of heart pine flooring from the attic. The home is furnished with beautiful family pieces and antiques purchased at auctions across the country. The works of artist W. S. Barber, Mrs. Hubbard’s great-grandfather, line the walls. The owners’ love of collecting is evident in their extensive portfolio of land grants and other historic documents bearing the signatures of Virginia governors and other noteworthy historical figures. Favored collections include brass candlesticks, old books and salt cellars. Mr. and Mrs. Richard L. Hubbard, owners.
Pleasant Prospect Farm, 2186 Pleasant Prospect Lane, Eastville, VA 23347. From Rt. 13 stoplight in Eastville, turn west onto Willow Oak Road (Rt.631); continue to end. Turn left onto Courthouse Road (Bus. Rt. 13); continue .5 mi. Turn west onto Savage Neck Drive (Rt. 634). Proceed 2.1 mi., bear left at fork and continue on Savage Neck Drive an additional 2.3 miles. Occupying a prominent position on celebrated Cherrystone Creek, this property was part of a vast tract of land given circa 1620 by Indian King Debedeavon to Thomas Savage, the Eastern Shore’s first permanent white settler. His descendant, Major John Savage, built the existing dwelling which can be dated to the 1750s (although indications of earlier construction exist). Purchased by the present owners in 1994, Pleasant Prospect house and farm have benefited from meticulous restoration and husbandry. At that time the original two-story center-hall Dutch colonial structure was renovated, and revealed support beams and door frames which were left in their unfinished state. Numbered beams and mortise and tenon construction methods are exposed throughout the house and original wainscoting was restored. First and second level exterior porches were rebuilt, the 1930s kitchen was replaced and a master bedroom wing was added. Extensive gardens and adjacent outbuildings frame this waterfront property. Additional buildings open for the tour include a two-story turreted barn, complete with upstairs exercise room and spa, and lower level accommodation for two Ford Model A’s: a 1930 two-door coupe and a 1931 cabriolet. The two-bedroom guesthouse known as the “Flag Cabin”, which employs career memorabilia from the owner’s naval career in its décor, is also open for viewing. Admiral and Mrs. William J. Flanagan Jr., USN (Ret.), owners.
Other Places of Interest: (*National Register of Historical Places)
*Ker Place, 69 Market St., Onancock, VA 23417. This brick mansion built in 1799 is home to the Eastern Shore of Virginia Historical Society. Open Friday, April 26 for extended hours, 10:00 a.m. until 7:00 p.m. and Saturday, April 27 until 5:00 p.m. Free admission to the gardens, which are a restoration project of the Garden Club of Virginia. House tour $5. (757)787-8012 or www.kerplace.org.
*Historic Northampton County Courthouse and Court Green, 16404 Courthouse Rd., Eastville VA 23347, is one of the earliest and most complete in Virginia. It includes outstanding examples of early court buildings as well as later structures reflecting the continuity of government in Eastville for well over 300 years. The area is listed as a Historic District on both the Virginia Landmarks Register and the National Register of Historic Places. The Declaration of Independence was read on August 13, 1776 in the 1731 courthouse, and a newly opened museum resides in the 1899 Courthouse. Docents will be on site for tours. No fee.
*Barrier Islands Center and Almshouse Farm. 7295 Young Street, Machipongo, VA 23405. Though the Eastern Shore’s chain of seaside barrier islands are now mostly deserted, this museum provides photos, artifacts, and fascinating written accounts of those who once called these islands home. Also preserved here is the most complete almshouse complex extant in the United States. (757) 678-5550 or www.barrierislandscenter.com. No fee.
*Cape Charles Museum Welcome Center and Historic District. 814 Randolph Avenue, Cape Charles, VA 23310. Enjoy a breathtaking view of the Chesapeake Bay as you sample shops, galleries and restaurants in this charming Victorian railroad town. The museum’s railroad cars and rich archival photo collection brings this 1886 town’s past to life. (757) 331-1008 or www.capecharles.org.
Eastern Shore Welcome Center. East of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Toll Plaza, turn in to access a wide variety of information about our special peninsula. Public restrooms available. Open 8:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m. No fee. (757) 331-1660.
Eastern Shore National Wildlife Refuge. 5003 Hallett Circle, Cape Charles, VA 23310. Just after the Eastern Shore Welcome Center, turn east onto Rte. 600 and then right onto Hallett Circle. Open daily 9:00-4:00 pm. www.fws.gov/northeast/easternshore/index.html. No fee.
Kiptopeke State Park. Travel three miles north of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Toll Plaza and turn west onto Rte. 704, the park entrance is within a half mile. Fee $3.00 on weekends. www.dcr.virginia.gov/state_parks/kip.shtml.
*Arlington Plantation Site & Custis Tombs (1670-1749). Turn west on Rte. 644 off of Route 13. www.virginia.org/Listings/HistoricSites/CustisTombs. No fee.